Maria Curie-Skłodowska University

umcs1-300x124Maria Curie-Skłodowska University (UMCS) in Lublin is the biggest publicly-funded university east of the Vistula river. As an institution with deep roots in the region, it has been fulfilling its culture- and opinion-forming role and significantly contributing to the creation of knowledge-based economy for nearly 70 years. Up to this date, our Alma Mater has produced over 210,000 graduates. Currently, we are educating over 24,000 undergraduate, graduate, post-graduate and doctoral students.

A comprehensive educational offer and rich experience are two of our advantages. Every year, we evolve by offering new programmes and introducing unique specializations. We provide education within 12 faculties in over 60 programmes and 200 specializations. In terms of active students’ research associations in relation to the total number of students, UMCS ranks among the top institutions in the country, and unquestionably dominates in the region. Currently, there is over 80 such associations which embrace young people who put their enthusiasm and determination into organizing interesting initiatives.

Constantly increased is also the scientific and research potential of UMCS, among others thanks to European funding. We have modern laboratories and classrooms. We invest in infrastructure and upgrade our existing facilities. We have erected modern facilities and established new laboratories, such as the Faculty of Earth Sciences and Spatial Management, the Institute of Computer Science, or the Functional Nanomaterials Centre at the Faculty of Chemistry. Recently, the university has also opened the Media and Art Incubator, a unique in Eastern Poland modern digital creation centre contributing to the dialogue between education, culture, art, and media. We have signed a MoU with TVP Lublin concerning joint media projects execution in the Incubator.


  • Arts
  • Biology and Biotechnology
  • Chemistry
  • Economics
  • Geosciences and Land Management
  • Philosophy and Sociology
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics, Physics and Computer Science
  • Pedagogy and Psychology
  • Political Science
  • Law and Administration